News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

Hilton Head Island

Started by Big J, July 15, 2013, 13:48:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Big J

I'll be heading to Hilton Head Island for a week Aug 3-10.  Never have fished salt and will be bringing the 10 wt along.  Anyone have any tips and info on the area they would be willing to share?  From what I understand, I should fish the surf during low tide and the marshes during high tide.  Probably will rent a kayak too.  Thanks in advance.

The Dude

Take my info with a grain of salt as I'm no expert, but from my time down there I'd stick with the saltmarshes and oyster rakes and skip the surf.  If anybody tells you to go to Southern Drawl Outfitters for info, don't waste your time - those dudes are (or were 2 years ago) bigtime douchebags.  A bunch of people try to fish the culvert near shelter cove during the outgoing tide, and you can find some success there, but you have to be right up next to the culvert and you could find yourself fighting for position with others, plus it isn't consistent action.  Again, I'd find a put-in on the Bluffton side right next to the island and fish the marshes around Pinckney Island.  Fish the marshes on the outgoing tides and concentrate on where the ditches empty into the channels.  You'll see bait everywhere, and most of it will be mullet, so don't waste your time casting to them.  Keep an eye where the oyster rakes are at low tide and fish over them as the tide comes back in and covers them up.