News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

Elk Hare Caddis Fly

Started by troutfreak, June 25, 2008, 15:04:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

troutfreak

Do you guys use any floatant on these flies, someone mention to coat the body, not the Hair????

Woolly Bugger

I rub in the tiniest amount of silicon floatant, too much and it overcoats the fly making it heavier and it will plop down in to the water. A little "shake and bake" (loon dust, frogs fanny, etc) after a while and your good.
ex - I'm not going to live with you through one more fishing season!
me -There's a season?

Pastor explains icons to my son: you know like the fish symbol on the back of cars.
My son: My dad has two fish on his car and they're both trout!

troutphisher

TF,

I use Frog's fanny (fumed silica) by trade name. It works best on all dry fly's in my opinion. You can work this powder into the fine hairs of elk or deer, and the fly will ride high on the water surface. This will allow you to easily skitter the fly also.

I buy my fumed silica from this company for $3.99 a quart.
http://www.epoxyproducts.com/2_fillers.html

I bought 4 quarts last year, and have not used a whole quart yet.
The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.

troutfreak

Thanks guys, I been putting way to much on mine then.  I will try the quart TP, thanks for the link.

Trout Maharishi

I don't know what type of floatant you are using, but I apply mine to the entire fly. I put it on the hackle, the body, and the wing. It is important that you treat the fly before you start fishing it. I put a small amount of a paste type floatant on the back of my hand then dab it on fly with my finger tip. The increase in temperature on the back of your hand helps makes it easier to apply if the air temp is cooler. BTW, I like Aquel for a paste floatant. It is a little more temperature tolerant than most others.