Did you know that felt soles are going to become extint?

Started by Woolly Bugger, December 29, 2008, 09:16:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Will the elimination of felt soles have an impact on the spread of aqutic species?

Yes, it will help
2 (11.8%)
No, animals play a bigger role that humans
7 (41.2%)
No, it's already too late
4 (23.5%)
What? There's an invasion?
0 (0%)
What about condoms for boots?
4 (23.5%)

Total Members Voted: 16

Woolly Bugger

Trout Unlimited, in an effort to stop the spread of aquatic nuisance species, has asked fishing equipment manufactures to stop using felt for boot soles by 2011. Apparently anglers boot have been suspected of transferring everything from the New Zealand mud snail to didymo and whirling disease parasites. In the future sticky rubber, also knows as AquaStealth, will be used as a replacement for felt.

I've been using the rubber soled boots for 10 years and, while they may help in controlling the spread of these plagues, I certain that they won't eliminate the transfer from stream to stream. The problem is that there are seams in the rubber that will come loose after use and trap water and organic matter thus enabling the spread of these creatures.

Are people the only vehicle of transfer? Wat roll do animals play? Is didymo spread by Canada Geese too? Have any studies and research been done in that area?

http://www.tu.org/site/c.kkLRJ7MSKtH/b.3349147/k.DA5C/Aquatic_Invasive_Species_AIS.htm

http://www.tu.org/site/c.kkLRJ7MSKtH/b.3205851/apps/s/content.asp?ct=6067059

SAVE THE FELTS
ex - I'm not going to live with you through one more fishing season!
me -There's a season?

Pastor explains icons to my son: you know like the fish symbol on the back of cars.
My son: My dad has two fish on his car and they're both trout!

flatlander