News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

New to Forum

Started by elise, July 25, 2006, 15:37:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elise

Greetings!
I am new to this forum and I am also somewhat new to fly fishing.  I spent a week with Trout Unlimited's Youth Camp and enjoyed an incredible week as their camp nurse.  Actually, the boys were extremely healthy and I was not very useful but I learned SO much and I have been fishing and reading about fishing since my return!
My fly fishing experiences are limited to the Jackson River.  I usually go every other weekend with my boyfriend and we enjoy this so much.  My "fishing buddy" is going to be away for a while and I am somewhat skittish about fishing alone.  I just can not figure out why my other friends are not as hooked as I am!
Does anyone have any places in mind where it is somewhat safe to fish alone and possibly some advice (do's and don'ts)
Thanks! Elise

streamer

Welcome, Elise. I hope you enjoy the forum. Lots of knowledgeable and fun folks here. Like any other places where your safety might be concerned, the rules are the same outdoors. Don't fish alone and out of sightlines. Carry a whistle, pepper spray, air horn, etc. Don't fish so close to dark that you can't be seen. I'm sure there are other suggestions regarding safety, but these are some of the common sense biggies.

There are women on this board and others with whom you can hook up. We also have a few large group trips every year where there will be other women, but aslo men of integrity with whom you can fish comfortably. The Smallie Show is coming up August 4-6. It's a "family" type trip for smallmouth bass on the New River. The details are here: http://www.southeastflyfishingforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11865 .
Lots of folks from this board aill be attending since they are also members of the SEFFF too. Glad to have you with us. Enjoy!

Regards,
Streamer
Remember...We all live downstream.