News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

Boots?

Started by terrestrial, April 28, 2021, 10:09:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

terrestrial

Need to buy some boots and considering something non-Simms. Just a little frustrated with the lifespan of the Simms boots I've worn the past several years.

I just finished reading the danner/patagucci, whorvis, Simms boots threads, but is there any love/hate for Korkers? Might try them out,

Yallerhammer

I ran a pair of Cabela's for about four years that I really liked. They finally fell apart on me after a lot of hard miles and wear and tear.
Women want me, doughbellies fear me. - Little Debbie Prostaff

troutboy_II

I really like my Chotas.  Some on here had bad experience I think, but I've been wearing them for maybe 15 years and get good mileage and comfort from them.  I think they are particularly comfortable because the soles are softer and more flexible than pretty much everything else I tried.  I can feel the bottom of the stream better and feel steadier because of it.  I don't do well balancing on the borads that some manufactures call soles.  Also a little easier on hikes in (and I don't have another pairs of boots to worry about). 

Now I will grant you that I have not looked at boots in a while and there may be better ones out there now, but I recommend you at least look at a pair of Chotas before you buy.

For what it's worth, my ass is dragging today because of yesterday's hike in to a stream we hadn't been to in a while, but I don't think the boots were a cause - just old ass muscles.  :Dance

My $.02.

TB
When fishing, a person ought to carry a flask of whisky in case of snakebite. Furthermore, he ought to also carry along a small snake.

Dougfish

Boot killer chiming in.
Cabelas? 9 mos. 3 times.
Korkers? Long ago. 12 months.
Orvis? 12 months.
Simms Freestones? 36 months and counting.