News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

Hook Set

Started by badankles, April 29, 2006, 21:44:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

badankles

well, i'm still new at this but have been trying hard these past few months. i'm loving the recent top water action but having trouble setting the hook consistantly.

i've tried raising the rod along with stripping the line a bit right when the fly is taken...splash, raise, strip...nothing.

i've tried giving it a couple seconds before raising the rod but then i see the fly float back up...splash...wait...raise, strip...nothing.

what's the secret? how about imparting some advice to a newbie?
when's a newbie no longer a newbie...

Woolly Bugger

1. Don't set the hook too slowly or quickly, either one could cause the loss of the fish. Stocked fish tend to take the fly slower than wild fish, which are often lightening quick. This can be one of the hardest things to learn as it changes with conditions and the fish.

2. Fly fishing hooks are small and should be kept sharp. It doesn't take a lot of force to set the hook. Sometimes the fish may end up hooking itself when it turns with the fly.

3. You can't set the hook with slack line, keep it tight.

4. Lift the rod and either pinch the line with your index finger on the rod or strip in some line with the other hand. Some perfer setting the hook with a much more horizontal action over a vertical lift.

5. Practice, practice, practice.
ex - I'm not going to live with you through one more fishing season!
me -There's a season?

Pastor explains icons to my son: you know like the fish symbol on the back of cars.
My son: My dad has two fish on his car and they're both trout!

Al

Very good advice by Woolly.