News:

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon Link

Main Menu

I'm Poor, Selling Leaders

Started by FoulHook, February 17, 2014, 22:25:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FoulHook

I've been making furled leaders for a few years now and used to sell a handful a year. Now I've decided to ramp it up to help pay for some of the extra expenses (lots of beer) that go along with being in school for seemingly the rest of my life.

I'm using you all to gauge the interest to see if it's worthwhile to setup an online shop or find a better way to sell these things. I've talked with a shop and we are working on doing a test run to see how well they do, but it's hard to rely on that because they get half the profit.

Anyway, here's some pics:

Dorky flyer for the fly shop.

The nylon is clear, and hides itself pretty well in the water in my opinion.

Currently I'm only selling Nylon leaders. Fluorocarbon has too much overhead ($/yd), but if interest is there I can consider adding it to the lineup. I'm planning on doing some testing and developing a bigger 6+ wt. version specifically designed for distance casting bigger flies like poppers and clousers, or whatever you warm water guys use these days. That may have to wait until the summer though. These have to sell well first.

Furled is not braided. If you've used a braided leader before, these are very different.

Hopefully some of the folks here who have used them will chime in on their experience, good or bad.

I always give 15% off to BRFFF-ers. Shoot me a PM if you're interested or just have questions.

$8 ea. for 4'. $10 ea. for 6'

Woolly: If this is too spammy, feel free to delete it. No hard feelings.
Quote from: Transylwader on June 03, 2011, 21:56:17 PM
The Davidson. It's full of wild fish.

Dougfish