sanjuanwormhatch

Awesome looking water.

benben reincarnated

Stop overthinking this gun shit, you just need one of these:

AL trout bum

Quote from: Big J on August 23, 2013, 11:41:45 AM
Quote from: AL trout bum on August 23, 2013, 11:21:11 AM

Quote from: Big J on August 23, 2013, 07:38:44 AM
A 9mm into a bear is a lot like a BB gun into a person.  It hurts, and if your lucky you could do some damage, but slim chances....and I don't even begin to think I can stop a bear with it. 

I'll add to the thread derailment. A 9mm is not the most adequate gun for the job, but you're telling me a 9mm round to the head won't deter (or even kill) a 200lb bear? I bet it will. I hope I never have to find out, but I bet it will work just fine. A .357 would probably be better. I just hope they run when they see me. For some reason black bears scare the shit out of me. So much that I am scared to camp next month in the smokies. There, I said it.  :embarassed:

I am by no means an expert.  I personally don't think a 9mm will go through a bear skulls head every time, but never said it wouldn't.  A well placd BB can kill a person too.  I also don't think the majority of people can hit a charging bear square in the skull in 10 seconds under pressure, on top of a percentage that the bullet won't penetrate the skull every time either.  Body shots yes and maybe a lucky head shot every once in a while, but nothing reliable.  Some good points brought up by some knowledgable guys in the link below.  Quoted a couple good points directly.  There are times a 9 mm won't even go through a human skull.